South Africa Critical Skill Visa


The South Africa critical skill visa is a permit issued to professional applicants who hold exceptional skills or qualifications that are in great demand or rather scarce in South Africa. The South Africa critical skills work visa will be issued for a period not exceeding more than five years.

South Africa is one of the modernized and growing country. The need for skillful professionals continues to grow. South Africa Critical Skills Work Visa is the key to move there, work and settle down. Being one of the most beautiful countries in the world, South Africa has witnessed a remarkable rise in its economic and cultural profile within the past two decades. South Africa also has a flourishing expats community with Indians, British, Dutch and other nationalities making it a home for themselves.

The South Africa critical skills work visa allows workers holding this visa to visit South Africa and find a job matching their skills, once the applicant has found a job, he or she can transfer it to a work permit.

The Key features of the South Africa Critical Skills Work Visa

A job offer is not needed to enter South Africa

Critical Skills Visa is based on skills and qualification as per the Critical Skills, listed by the South Africa Department of Home Affairs

The SA critical skill visa is initially granted for 12 months and is extendable as per the norms of the authority

The applicant needs to find a job within the Visa grant period of 1 year and is then extended to 5 years to a Critical Skills Work Permit

No need to go through the tiresome labor certification process which is required for a General Work Visa application

  1. Documents Required
  2. Current passport with travel history
  3. Educational testimonials
  4. Professional testimonials
  5. Medical report
  6. Character certificate (Police Clearance Certificate)

A yellow fever vaccination certificate if the travel is through a yellow fever prevalent area.

The applicant has to furnish proof that his or her occupation suits within the critical skills stream and specify indicating the occupation skill for which the application is being made. The occupation must be listed on the critical skills list.

Evaluation proof of your foreign qualification by SAQA and translated by a sworn translator into one of the official languages of the republic.

If applicable, proof of application for a certificate of registration with the professional body, council or board recognized by SAQA.

Written confirmation, from the professional body, council or board recognized by SAQA in terms of the national qualification’s framework act, or any related government department confirming the skills or qualifications of the applicant and appropriate post qualification experience,

Proof of payment of the applicable fee

The process

Evaluation of the applicant’s qualifications and credentials by SAQA

Ascertaining the applicant’s standards of practice within their occupation

Maintain discipline within your trade or profession

  • You may be required to prove 3 – 5 years’ experience in your industry

Occupational Categories included in the Critical Skills List

  • Agriculture and related sciences
  • Architecture, Business, Economics and Management Studies
  • Information Communication & Technology, Engineering
  • Health Professions, Life and Earth Sciences
  • Professionals and Associate Professionals, Trades
  • Business Process Outsourcing (BPO)
  • Academics and Researchers & Post-Graduates


Fill below form and we will call you back!

Which language test you have done?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Expert women counselor


Fill below form and we will call you back!

Which language test you have done?